How was the County Championship created?

The County Championship is the domestic first-class cricket competition in England and Wales. The IPL is another great competition, and at you can wager on it.

It was created in 1890 by the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC), the governing body of cricket, in response to the growing popularity of cricket at a county level.

Prior to the County Championship, cricket was primarily played at a club level, with teams representing individual clubs or regions. These clubs can be wagered on the 1xBet platform too. However, as cricket grew in popularity, it became apparent that a more formal structure was needed to govern the sport and provide a competitive outlet for the best players.

Setting up a formal structure

In 1873, the first unofficial county championship was played, featuring the top county teams of the day. Besides wagering on those teams, you can make a live bet kabaddi at 1xBet too, and take advantage of a wide range of options to play and win. However, this competition was not formally recognized by the MCC.

In the 1880s, a number of proposals were put forward for a more structured county championship. The aim was to create a national competition that would bring together the best county teams in England and Wales. Now at 1xBet you can make a live kabaddi bet or also wager on the modern version of the County Championship too.

In 1890, the MCC finally established the County Championship as a formal competition. Some of its main aspects back then were:

  • nine teams took part in its first season;
  • all squads were divided into two divisions;
  • the top two teams from each division played a knockout that began in a semifinal.

The purpose of this latter round was to determine the champion of the tournament.

A competition in constant evolution

Over the years, the format, and structure of the County Championship has evolved. If you visit 1xBet you can go to its cricket section or to the area of TVbet: the thrill of gaming is also waiting for you.

The number of teams and divisions have changed to reflect the growth and changing nature of the sport. In 1895, a third division was added, and the championship was played on a points system rather than a knockout format. In 1971, the competition was split into two divisions, with promotion and relegation between them.

Currently, the County Championship features 18 teams, with each team playing a total of 14 matches over the course of the season. The team with the most points at the end of the season is crowned the county champion. At 1xBet you can encounter the thrill of gaming on its TVbet section, and great excitement can be found in its cricket area too.

Join Telegram Channel

Join Our Telegram Group

Get Every App and Game Update In Your Phone

Join Our Community Over Social Media Platforms!

Email: [email protected]